LO AND BEHOLD

Levitating high above the floor,
Dreaming of floating
And dancing on vapors
I am my own magic carpet.
Wide-eyed yet sleepily
A small shape reveals itself,
And below me,
Lies you, oblivious.
My hands trace circles
Across the stucco ceiling,
Shadows forming streaks
And darkness befriending.
My body is your accessory
This mist I’ve become, moving
Above our bed,
Out of the room,
And down the stairwell,
Toward something unknown,
Underneath the stars.
Many times I have hovered
Like a bird made of smoke,
Or a halo, shimmering
Hazily in the ethers
On the outskirts of a dream.
Waking from my detachment
Leaves me drained,
Confused,
And lightheaded.
And I wonder,
For just a moment,
If it wasn’t a dream at all.
Looking down, I see you smile,
Arms reaching upward,
As I swing on the end of a tether,
And you cut the string.

Leave a comment